Winners of the Fischelis Award

Metta Lou Henderson

2021 – Metta Lou Henderson

AIHP’s Board of Directors has awarded the 2021 AIHP Robert P. Fischelis Award to Metta Lou Henderson, PhD, for her extraordinary contributions to the Institute and the field of pharmacy history. The Board’s citation hailed Dr. Henderson’s work for helping to remedy the insufficient attention prior historians had given to the role of women in the pharmacy profession

Read more about the 2021 Fischelis Award.

AIHP Secretary Robert Buerki

2020 – Robert Buerki

AIHP’s Board of Directors awarded the 2020 AIHP Robert P. Fischelis Award to Robert Buerki, PhD, RPh, for his extraordinary contributions to the Institute and the field of pharmacy history. AIHP’s Board of Directors cited the key role he played in the creation of the George Urdang Chair in the History of Pharmacy at the University of Wisconsin–Madison School of Pharmacy, AIHP’s host institution.

Read more about the 2020 Fischelis Award.

2019 AIHP Fischelis Award Recipient George Griffenhagen

2019 – George B. Griffenhagen

In bestowing the Fischelis Award on Mr. Griffenhagen, AIHP’s Board of Directors cited his decades of support of the Institute and his many contributions to the field of the history of pharmacy. AIHP’s Board of Directors particularly hailed his active leadership role at the Institute for more than fifty years. The following is a chronology of the leadership positions he held:

Read more about the 2019 Fischelis Award.

2018 – University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Pharmacy

For its decades of support for the AIHP and its contributions to the field of the history of pharmacy. In presenting the award to Steven M. Swanson, PhD, Dean of the UW School of Pharmacy, AIHP Executive Director Gregory Higby noted that “the Institute could not have existed over the past 77 years without the active and ongoing support of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Pharmacy.”

Read more about the 2018 Fischelis Award.

AIHP Treasurer Lou Vottero

2016 – Louis D. Vottero

For his tireless work to secure the financial future of the Institute as AIHP Treasurer from 1979 to 2010.

Advancing knowledge and understanding of the history of pharmacy and medicines.

AIHP Thanks National Association Sponsors

Read More

AIHP Wants to Document Your COVID-19 Stories and Experiences

AIHP COVID-19 ProjectThe American Institute of the History of Pharmacy is documenting and preserving pharmacy stories and experiences during the COVID-19 global pandemic for the benefit of future historians and scholars. We seek to record the effects of this public health emergency on all types of pharmacy experiences. We invite you to share your pharmacy stories, photos, videos, artifacts, and other documentation of the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic.

You can participate in the AIHP COVID-19 Pandemic Pharmacy Historical Documentation Project either (1) by immediately sharing your thoughts/experiences and/or submitting digital materials or (2) by signifying your to intention to submit materials in the future. Please comply with all applicable local or state stay-at-home orders while self-documenting.

Please click the link below to learn more about participating in the AIHP COVID-19 Pandemic Pharmacy Historical Documentation Project.

Read More

Join AIHP and Subscribe to History of Pharmacy and Pharmaceuticals

Access the Pharmacy in History JSTOR Archive
All past issues of Pharmacy in History have been digitized and are text-searchable at JSTOR.

Note: Academic libraries seeking subscriptions to History of Pharmacy and Pharmaceuticals should directly contact the University of Wisconsin Press.

Read More

Calendar of Events

Upcoming events of interest to historians of pharmacy, pharmaceuticals, medicines, science, and related fields. (Event information current when posted. In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, please double-check the status of all events): 

19-21 May 2022: 118th Annual Meeting of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, Phoenix, Arizona

9 June 2022: AMCP Summit: Addressing Health Disparities, virtual.

11-15 June 2022: Summer Meetings of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Phoenix, Arizona.

13 June 2022: British Society for the History of Pharmacy: Online Lecture By Dr Ayman Atat - History of Pharmacy in Arabic Civilization, Between Past and Future, virtual.

15-17 June 2022: Bi-Annual Conference of the Alcohol and Drugs Society, Mexico City, Mexico.

23-27 July 2022: Annual Meeting of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, Grapevine, Texas.

21-28 August 2022: 23rd International Congress of Historical Sciences, Poznan, Poland.

7-10 September 2022: 45th International Congress for the History of Pharmacy, Milan, Italy.

18-22 September 2022: 80th FIP (International Pharmaceutical Federation) World Congress, Seville, Spain.

15-18 October 2022: American College of Clinical Pharmacy Global Conference on Clinical Pharmacy, San Francisco, California.


Read More