AIHP Honors 50-Year Members

Imagine being an AIHP member since Lyndon Johnson or Richard Nixon was president. Imagine becoming an Institute member when the Vietnam War was raging or when the federal Medicare program was first created. For some of us, these things occurred before we were born, and long before we ever considered becoming a member and supporter of AIHP. Yet, for 20 of AIHP’s current members, these events were occurring in real time at the time they first became a member of this organization. And they have remained active members ever since.


AIHP is saluting these loyal and longstanding members! Institute President John D. Grabenstein this week sent a letter to individuals who have been AIHP members for 50 or more years to thank them for their half-century of loyal support for the Institute and its mission. Here are the names of the honorees and the year they became an AIHP member:

Dr. William M. Heller (1955)
Prof. Fred M. Eckel (1963)
Dr. Donald W. Brodeur (1965)
Dr. Robert A Buerki (1965)
Prof. Michael R. Harris (1966)
Mr. William Himelberger (1966)
Mrs. Nancy J. Naeve (1966)
Dr. John M. Riddle (1966)
Mrs. Helen K. Stewart (1966)
Mr. William A. Zellmer (1967)
Prof. Gary D. Hall (1968)
Dr. Robert G. Mrtek (1969)
Dr. John Parascandola (1970)
Mr. James R. Fenno (1971)
Mr. Timothy V. Marcham (1971)
Mr. Stephen F. Maybaum (1971)
Dean Julian H. Fincher (1972)
Dr. Marsha B. Mrtek (1972)
Dr. Paul John Rich (1972)
Prof. George Zografi (1972)

In his letter to the honorees, President Grabenstein stated that “your half-century or more of membership testifies to your deep commitment to AIHP’s mission of advancing knowledge and understanding of the history of pharmacy and medicines.’ He observed that “both AIHP and the field of pharmacy history have greatly benefited from your commitment to that mission.”

William M. Heller (circa 1990)

The distinction of being AIHP’s current longest tenured member goes to William H. Heller, PhD, who has been a member for 67 years (joining in 1955). Dr. Heller, now 96, has been a leading figure in the pharmacy profession. His accomplishment include serving as the Executive Director of the United States Pharmaceutical Convention (USP) from 1968 to 1990. He was awarded APhA’s Remington Honor Medal in 1984.

The list of honorees includes five former AIHP’s presidents (Robert A Buerki, Michael R. Harris, John M. Riddle, William A. Zellmer, and John Parascandola) and a current member of the Institute’s Board of Directors (Dr. Buerki). Another honoree (John Parascandola) served as AIHP’s Executive Director from 1973-1981.

“This group of people has contributed so much, in many ways, to AIHP, “ said President Grabenstein. “They richly deserve our thanks and appreciation for their loyal support to AIHP for so many decades.”

Posted: April 27, 2022

Actively engaged in preserving the documents of pharmacy's past and developing materials for understanding the future.

AIHP Thanks National Association Sponsors

Read More

AIHP Wants to Document Your COVID-19 Stories and Experiences

AIHP COVID-19 ProjectThe American Institute of the History of Pharmacy is documenting and preserving pharmacy stories and experiences during the COVID-19 global pandemic for the benefit of future historians and scholars. We seek to record the effects of this public health emergency on all types of pharmacy experiences. We invite you to share your pharmacy stories, photos, videos, artifacts, and other documentation of the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic.

You can participate in the AIHP COVID-19 Pandemic Pharmacy Historical Documentation Project either (1) by immediately sharing your thoughts/experiences and/or submitting digital materials or (2) by signifying your to intention to submit materials in the future. Please comply with all applicable local or state stay-at-home orders while self-documenting.

Please click the link below to learn more about participating in the AIHP COVID-19 Pandemic Pharmacy Historical Documentation Project.

Read More

Join AIHP and Subscribe to History of Pharmacy and Pharmaceuticals

Access the Pharmacy in History JSTOR Archive
All past issues of Pharmacy in History have been digitized and are text-searchable at JSTOR.

Note: Academic libraries seeking subscriptions to History of Pharmacy and Pharmaceuticals should directly contact the University of Wisconsin Press.

Read More

Calendar of Events

Upcoming events of interest to historians of pharmacy, pharmaceuticals, medicines, science, and related fields. (Event information current when posted. In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, please double-check the status of all events):

May 9-12, 2024: Annual Meeting of the American Association of the History of Medicine, Kansas City, Missouri.
June 27-30, 2024: ADHS Biennial Conference, Buffalo, NY.
July 7-11, 2024: International Social Pharmacy Workshop, Banff, Canada.
September 4-7, 2024: 46th International Congress for the History of Pharmacy, Belgrade Serbia.
January 3-6, 2025: Annual Meeting of the American Historical Association, New York City, NY.

Read More