History of AIHP

The American Institute of the History of Pharmacy was founded in Madison, Wisconsin on January 22, 1941 at the University of Wisconsin School of Pharmacy. The six founders of AIHP were:

  • Dr. Arthur H. Uhl, Director of the UW School of Pharmacy
  • Dr. Edward Kremers, Director Emeritus of the UW School of Pharmacy
  • Dr. Louis W. Busse, Professor at the UW School of Pharmacy
  • Dr. Lloyd M. Parks, Professor at the UW School of Pharmacy
  • Jennings Murphy, Secretary of the Wisconsin Pharmaceutical Association
  • Dr. George Urdang, former Director of the German Society of the History of Pharmacy
Fostering the creation, preservation, and dissemination of knowledge concerning the history of the pharmaceutical field.

AIHP Thanks the Charter Members of the National Pharmacy Association Sponsorship program

  • Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy, Patron

  • American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Patron

  • American College of Clinical Pharmacy, Donor

  • American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, Contributor

  • American Pharmacists Association, Contributor

Read More

Join AIHP and Subscribe to Pharmacy in History

Individual Subscription
For $65/year ($75/foreign)

Institutional/Corporate subscription
For $130/year ($140/foreign)

Pharmacy Education Fund (Schools or College of Pharmacy)
For $275/year

Read More

Access the Pharmacy in History JSTOR Archive

All past issues of Pharmacy in History have been digitized and are text-searchable at JSTOR.

Read More

Sawyer Wins 2016 Sonnedecker Prize

AIHP is pleased to announce that Laura Phillips Sawyer, assistant Professor at Harvard Business School, has been selected to receive the 2016 Glenn Sonnedecker Prize for her article, “California Fair Trade: Antitrust and the Politics of ‘Fairness’ in U.S. Competition Policy.”

Read More